Hydropackulicity Contest draws near

For those following the Hydropackulicity SEO contest at HTC, we are in the last stretch. With one final week to go, I am clinging on to the bottom of the first page of the Google search, currently number 9 as of this writing. Sarah Johnson remains the one to beat. I still haven’t figured out if it is by sheer luck, or if she has some tricks up her sleeve.

Sorry if there was some confusion in my hydropackulicity contest countdown, there was a discrepancy about what our last class date was, and the contest ends on our last class date. I have reset the countdown clock to end on May 14 at 5:30 p.m.

My strategy for SEO basically to add new content at least once a week, and that is really hard to keep up with a busy schedule. I have tried to get good backlinks and that also proved to be difficult, because most legitimate businesses won’t link to you unless you are a good business partner, but not in conflict with their business. A link from the StarTribune would have been great, but the editor I talked to wasn’t very excited about a story on SEO unless there was new information I could provide. I thought I could get a link from HTC website that sounded promising initially, but then my contact failed to follow through. One thing you don’t want to do is get backlinks from spammy sites. Google will put you on the black list. I have found t requires a lot of work to get decent backlinks.

Strategies that may be working best for me are consistent posting and using Categories, Tags and  Key Words. They help Google do a comprehensive search. However the content needs to be current because Google likes to position trending information towards the top. I won’t divulge other strategies until the contest ends.

It has been interesting, to say the least. Our class has created a new word that Google now recognizes as a legitimate thing. Google will now fill in the rest of the word when you start typing hydropackulicity in the search field. Google search results are now about 9,800. That’s cool to think in a few months time, you can create a whole new search subject.

About cphydropackulicity

Graphic Designer/Web Designer

4 responses »

  1. Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really
    make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    Many thanks

    Reply
  2. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my zynga group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

